medienfrische Logo

new media & experimental art days

timetable

The 2023 timetable for all our events and exhibitions will be available here from mid-April.

THE SEVENTH FARMERS
5/26 / 8:00 pm
R: Stefan Ruzowitzky

A village in the Mühlviertel at the turn of the century: Hillinger, a large farmer who was murdered, has bequeathed his farm to his seven farmhands and maids. While the seventh-farmers learn to live freely and on their own responsibility, the hostility of the old-established peasantry grows against the young, masterless servants and their leader Lukas.

TESOROS (children's film)
5/27 / 11:00 a.m.
R: María Novaro

A village in the Mühlviertel at the turn of the century: Hillinger, a large farmer who was murdered, has bequeathed his farm to his seven farmhands and maids. While the seventh-farmers learn to live freely and on their own responsibility, the hostility of the old-established peasantry grows against the young, masterless servants and their leader Lukas.

EVA-MARIA
28.5. / 16:00
R: Lukas Ladner

Eva-Maria likes to let her optimism guide her, even in her desire to have a child. The fact that she has been in a wheelchair since childhood has never been a reason for her to give up on her dreams. Now, in her early 30s, she feels ready to give life. Documented by her personal assistant, we get an unusually intimate insight into a life beyond conventional family planning.

WESTERN
5/28 / 8:00 pm
R: Valeska Grisebach

A group of German construction workers sets off for a foreign construction site in the Bulgarian province. The foreign country and the rough, little-developed landscape awaken the men's thirst for adventure. At the same time, they are confronted with their own prejudices and mistrust. For two of the men, the nearby village becomes the stage for a competitive struggle for the recognition and favor of the villagers.

ARS ELECTRONICA ANIMATION SHORTS I
29.5. / 20:00

Animation Film Program at Ars Electronica Part 1. The "Electronic Theatre" will feature a variety of jury-selected productions that stand out for their artistic content and cultural and technological innovation. The "Young Animations" series includes a selection from the "u19 - create your world" Prix Ars Electronica 2021 competition, including short films, computer animations and stop-motion works.

HOTEL AUTOWAY
2.6. / 20:00
R: Daniel Pöhacker

The film was made on the occasion of the Tyrolean Provincial Exhibition 2005 on the theme of "Hotel & Motorway" and compresses freeway and hotel scenes from well-known and lesser-known films into a collage that explores the microcosm of the two fields of movement with relish. A small cinematographic adventure trip through the "hotels in the movies" and a pleasurable highway trip through film history.

EISENBERGER - Art must be beautiful, says the frog to the fly.
2.6. / 8:00 p.m.
R: Hercli Bundi

Art is just a label without any relevance, says Austrian artist Christian Eisenberger. At the age of 40, he has created over 45,000 works. He has left thousands of them on streets and squares. With his sprawling production, Christian Eisenberger escapes the control of galleries, art fairs and museums. In a milieu that fights with all means for attention and recognition, Christian Eisenberger keeps asking the question: What does artistic freedom really consist of? And do artists even still need it?

THE CHILDREN OF THE DEAD
3.6. / 8:00 p.m.
R: Kelly Copper and Pavol Liska

Elfriede Jelinek's monumental novel serves as a template for a free cinematic adaptation at the original locations around the Nobel Prize winner's childhood haunts. A SUPER 8 vacation film from Upper Styria creepily transforms into a resurrection of undead ghosts. The question of the (im)possibility of adequately coming to terms with accumulated guilt pervades all those terrains - nature, culture, society, history - that still create national identity in the present. Our taste is Austria!

ARS ELECTRONICA ANIMATION SHORTS II
5.6. / 11:00 a.m.

Animation Film Program at Ars Electronica Part 2. The "Electronic Theatre" will feature a variety of jury-selected productions that stand out for their artistic content and cultural and technological innovation. The "Young Animations" series includes a selection from the "u19 - create your world" Prix Ars Electronica 2021 competition, including short films, computer animations and stop-motion works.

 

I & WORLD
9.6. / 20:00
R: Daniel Pöhacker

Nine portraits of children and young people in Tyrol. They range from district young shooters to future biathletes. Pöhacker avoids any pedagogical gesture - the conversations take place at eye level. Thus liberated, whimsical and sometimes profound discussions develop about the (childish) self and the view of a (grown-up) world that sometimes seems abstruse.

THE RED HOUSE
11.6. / 16:00
R: Francesco Catarinolo, Peter Bardehle

A project by South Tyrolean adventurer Robert Peroni, who is helping Europe's last hunting people in Greenland into the future. Since seal pelts are no longer allowed to be traded, the people in the far north have lost their livelihood. Many of the younger generation are killing themselves. Peroni offers a solution. The film story, in which all protagonists act to the best of their abilities and are in danger of failing, accompanies Robert Peroni on his self-chosen life's mission and shows us in "Red House" the importance of giving back.

LUZIFER
12.6. / 20:00
R: Peter Brunner

Johannes, a Kaspar Hauser-like man with the mind of a child, lives in seclusion in an alpine hut with his eagle and his devout mother. Everyday life within this hermetic world is determined by prayers and rituals. But between the worship of nature and the creator, modern foreign bodies and disturbing noises suddenly intrude: the tourist development of their paradise threatens to poison it and awaken the devil.

THE LAST AUSTRIANS
16.6. / 20:00
R: Lukas Pitscheider

In a valley in the Ukrainian forest Carpathians lies the forgotten Austrian town of Königsfeld. After Queen Maria Theresa settled forest workers here more than two centuries ago, a timber industry grew up. Today, however, only factory ruins, potholes in the valley road and the increasingly seldom heard dialect bear witness to this. Since a flood cut the village off from the rest of the world, the question of a farewell has been hanging in the air. Lukas Pitscheider has accompanied the villagers over three years and recorded their various life choices, from hope abroad to the dream of ski tourism in the surrounding mountains.

Diametral Film Residency
17.6. / 20:00

-

VR Films - at the Widum
18.6. / 20:00

-

HONEYLAND
18.6. / 20:00
R: Ljubomir Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska

In a remote mountainous region of northern Macedonia, Hatidze Muratova lives with her elderly mother. In a village without roads, electricity or running water, she is the last in a long line of wild beekeepers who make a living by selling their sustainably produced honey in small batches. The peaceful coexistence of Hatidze and her wild bees is shaken by the arrival of a migrant family with their roaring engines, seven children, and a herd of cattle. Hatidze meets the change optimistically at first, but it is not long before a conflict ignites that reveals the fundamental tension between man and nature, harmony and discord, exploitation and sustainability.

ARADA
19.6. / 20:00
R: Jonas Schaffter

The film tells the story of three men who grew up in Switzerland but do not have Swiss passports. Mustafa, Vedat and Duran are deported to Turkey, the homeland of their parents, for criminal offenses. In this new environment, they now struggle to find their place and develop a sense of home. But they miss their families, whom they had to leave behind, and hold on to their Swiss identity.

HOMO SAPIENS
23.6. / 20:00
R: Nikolaus Geyrhalter

HOMO SAPIENS is a film about the finiteness of human existence, about the fragility of our existence, the end of the industrial age and about what it means to be human. What will remain of us? Empty spaces, ruins, overgrown cities, cracked asphalt. Our living spaces, only without us. Surrendered to decay, or rather: to nature, which is slowly reclaiming what we once took from it. HOMO SAPIENS is an ode to being human, seen from a possible retrospective scenario.

EVA-MARIA - CRIMEA
26.6. / 11:00 a.m.
R: Daniel Dlouhy

In the Crimea, a man sits and dreams of Soviet greatness. In front of him a huge sword next to a helmet. Loudly and amused by his own strong sayings, he laughs out his heteronormative, nationalist-imperialist worldview: Europe is only Russia's appendix, homosexuals already had it very easy in the Soviet Union, and the best war reenactments are still in Russia. Woven into this worldview are images of the Crimea: beaches, amusement parks, shopping malls, asphalt parking lots - consumerist tristesse.

Medienfrische Logo

new media & experimental art days

timetable

Plätze sind bei unseren Veranstaltungen zum Teil sehr begrenzt. Möchten Sie deshalb sichergehen, dass Sie einen Platz bekommen, senden Sie bitte eine E-Mail mit Event, Datum, Name und Stückzahl an: reservierungen@medienfrische.com

kino-programm

DIE SIEBTELBAUERN
26.5. / 20:00 Uhr
R: Stefan Ruzowitzky

Ein Dorf im Mühlviertel um die Jahrhundertwende: Der ermordete Großbauer Hillinger hat seinen Hof seinen sieben Knechten und Mägden vermacht. Während die Siebtelbauern lernen, frei und selbstverantwortlich zu leben, wächst die Feindseligkeit der alteingesessenen Bauernschaft gegen die jungen, herrenlosen Dienstleute und deren Anführer Lukas.

TESOROS (Kinderfilm)
27.5. / 11:00 Uhr
R: María Novaro

Ein Dorf im Mühlviertel um die Jahrhundertwende: Der ermordete Großbauer Hillinger hat seinen Hof seinen sieben Knechten und Mägden vermacht. Während die Siebtelbauern lernen, frei und selbstverantwortlich zu leben, wächst die Feindseligkeit der alteingesessenen Bauernschaft gegen die jungen, herrenlosen Dienstleute und deren Anführer Lukas.

EVA-MARIA
28.5. / 16:00 Uhr
R: Lukas Ladner

Eva-Maria lässt sich gern von ihrem Optimismus leiten, auch in ihrem Wunsch nach einem Kind. Dass sie seit ihrer Kindheit im Rollstuhl sitzt, war für sie noch nie Grund, ihre Träume aufzugeben. Nun, mit Anfang 30, fühlt sie sich bereit, Leben zu schenken. Dokumentiert von ihrem persönlichen Assistenten erhalten wir ungewohnt intimen Einblick in ein Leben jenseits konventioneller Familienplanung.

WESTERN
28.5. / 20:00 Uhr
R: Valeska Grisebach

Eine Gruppe deutscher Bauarbeiter macht sich auf den Weg auf eine Auslandsbaustelle in der bulgarischen Provinz. Das fremde Land und die raue, wenig erschlossene Landschaft wecken die Abenteuerlust bei den Männern. Gleichzeitig sind sie mit ihren eigenen Vorurteilen und ihrem Misstrauen konfrontiert. Das nahe gelegene Dorf wird für zwei der Männer zur Bühne eines Konkurrenzkampfs um die Anerkennung und die Gunst der Dorfbewohner.

ARS ELECTRONICA ANIMATION SHORTS I
29.5. / 20:00 Uhr

Animationsfilmprogramm der Ars Electronica Teil 1. Im Rahmen des „Electronic Theatre“ werden unterschiedliche, von einer Jury ausgewählte Produktionen gezeigt, die sich durch künstlerischen Gehalt sowie kulturelle und technologische Innovation auszeichnen. Die „Young Animations“ Reihe enthält eine Auswahl aus dem „u19 – create your world“ Prix Ars Electronica 2021 Wettbewerb, darunter Kurzfilme, Computeranimationen und Stop-Motion-Arbeiten.

HOTEL AUTOBAHN
2.6. / 20:00 Uhr
R: Daniel Pöhacker

Der Film ist anlässlich der Tiroler Landesausstellung 2005 zum Thema „Hotel & Autobahn“ entstanden und komprimiert Autobahn- und Hotelszenen aus bekannten und weniger bekannten Filmen zu einer Collage, die den Mikrokosmos der beiden Bewegungsfelder lustvoll untersucht. Eine kleine kinematographische Abenteuerreise durch die „Hotels im Film“ und eine vergnügliche Autobahnfahrt durch die Filmgeschichte.

EISENBERGER – Kunst muss schön sein, sagt der Frosch zur Fliege.
2.6. / 20:00 Uhr
R: Hercli Bundi

Kunst ist nur eine Etikette ohne jede Relevanz, sagt der österreichische Künstler Christian Eisenberger. Mit 40 Jahren hat er über 45.000 Werke geschaffen. Tausende davon ließ er auf Straßen und Plätzen stehen. Mit seiner ausufernden Produktion entzieht sich Christian Eisenberger der Kontrolle durch Galerien, Kunstmessen und Museen. In einem Milieu, das mit allen Mitteln um Aufmerksamkeit und Anerkennung kämpft, stellt Christian Eisenberger die Frage immer wieder: Worin besteht die künstlerische Freiheit tatsächlich? Und braucht es dazu überhaupt noch Künstler?

DIE KINDER DER TOTEN
3.6. / 20:00 Uhr
R: Kelly Copper und Pavol Liska

Elfriede Jelineks monumentaler Roman dient als Vorlage für eine freie filmische Adaption an den Originalschauplätzen rund um die Kindheitsorte der Nobelpreisträgerin. Ein SUPER 8-Ferienfilm aus der Obersteiermark verwandelt sich schleichend in eine Auferstehung untoter Gespenster. Die Frage nach der (Un-)Möglichkeit einer adäquaten Aufarbeitung aufgehäufter Schuld durchzieht all jene Terrains – Natur, Kultur, Gesellschaft, Geschichte –, die in der Gegenwart immer noch nationale Identität stiften. Unser Geschmack heißt Österreich!

ARS ELECTRONICA ANIMATION SHORTS II
5.6. / 11:00 Uhr

Animationsfilmprogramm der Ars Electronica Teil 2. Im Rahmen des „Electronic Theatre“ werden unterschiedliche, von einer Jury ausgewählte Produktionen gezeigt, die sich durch künstlerischen Gehalt sowie kulturelle und technologische Innovation auszeichnen. Die „Young Animations“ Reihe enthält eine Auswahl aus dem „u19 – create your world“ Prix Ars Electronica 2021 Wettbewerb, darunter Kurzfilme, Computeranimationen und Stop-Motion-Arbeiten.

 

ICH & WELT
9.6. / 20:00 Uhr
R: Daniel Pöhacker

Neun Porträts von Kindern und Jugendlichen in Tirol. Die Bandbreite reicht vom Bezirksjungschützenschießleistungsabzeichenträger bis zur zukünftigen Biathletin. Pöhacker vermeidet jeglichen pädagogischen Gestus – die Gespräche finden auf Augenhöhe statt. Derart befreit entwickeln sich launige, bisweilen tiefgründige Auseinandersetzungen mit dem (kindlichen) Ich und dem Blick auf eine mitunter abstrus anmutende (Erwachsenen-)Welt.

DAS ROTE HAUS
11.6. / 16:00 Uhr
R: Francesco Catarinolo, Peter Bardehle

Ein Projekt des Südtiroler Abenteurers Robert Peroni, der in Grönland dem letzten Jägervolk Europas in die Zukunft hilft. Seit Seehund-Felle nicht mehr gehandelt werden dürfen, haben die Menschen im Hohen Norden ihre Existenzgrundlage verloren. Viele aus der jungen Generation bringen sich um. Peroni bietet eine Lösung an. Die Filmgeschichte, in der alle Protagonisten nach bestem Gewissen handeln und zu scheitern drohen, begleitet Robert Peroni bei seiner selbstgewählten Lebensaufgabe und führt uns im „Red House“ die Bedeutung des Zurückgebens vor Augen.

LUZIFER
12.6. / 20:00 Uhr
R: Peter Brunner

Johannes, ein Kaspar Hauser-artiger Mann mit dem Gemüt eines Kindes, lebt mit seinem Adler und seiner strenggläubigen Mutter abgeschieden in einer Almhütte. Der Alltag innerhalb dieser hermetischen Welt wird bestimmt von Gebeten und Ritualen. Doch zwischen Natur- und Schöpferverehrung schieben sich plötzlich moderne Fremdkörper und Störgeräusche: Die touristische Erschließung ihres Paradieses droht dasselbe zu vergiften und den Teufel zu wecken.

DIE LETZTEN ÖSTERREICHER
16.6. / 20:00 Uhr
R: Lukas Pitscheider

In einem Tal in den ukrainischen Waldkarpaten liegt das vergessene österreichische Städtchen Königsfeld. Nachdem Königin Maria Theresia hier vor über zwei Jahrhunderten Waldarbeiter ansiedelte, wuchs eine Holzindustrie heran. Heute zeugen davon allerdings nur noch Fabrikruinen, Schlaglöcher in der Talstrasse und der immer seltener zu hörende Dialekt. Seit eine Überschwemmung den Ort vom Rest der Welt abgeschnitten hat, hängt die Frage eines Abschieds in der Luft. Lukas Pitscheider hat über drei Jahre die Dorfbewohner begleitet und ihre unterschiedlichen Lebensentscheidungen von der Hoffnung im Ausland bis zum Traum vom Skitourismus in den umgebenden Bergen festgehalten.

Diametrale Filmresidency
17.6. / 20:00 Uhr

VR Filme – im Widum
18.6. / 20:00 Uhr

HONEYLAND
18.6. / 20:00 Uhr
R: Ljubomir Stefanov, ‎Tamara Kotevska

In einer abgelegenen Bergregion Nordmazedoniens lebt Hatidze Muratova mit ihrer alten Mutter. In einem Dorf ohne Straßen, Strom und fließendes Wasser, ist sie die letzte in einer langen Reihe von Wildbienenzüchter*innen, die ihren Lebensunterhalt mit dem Verkauf ihres nachhaltig produzierten Honigs in kleinen Chargen bestreitet. Die friedliche Koexistenz von Hatidze und ihren Wildbienen wird durch die Ankunft einer Wanderfamilie mit ihren brüllenden Motoren, sieben Kindern sowie einer Viehherde ins Wanken gebracht. Hatidze begegnet der Veränderung im ersten Moment optimistisch, doch es dauert nicht lange, bis sich ein Konflikt entfacht, der die grundlegende Spannung zwischen Mensch und Natur, Harmonie und Zwietracht, Ausbeutung und Nachhaltigkeit offenbart.

ARADA
19.6. / 20:00 Uhr
R: Jonas Schaffter

Der Film erzählt von drei Männern, die zwar in der Schweiz aufgewachsen sind, jedoch keinen Schweizer Pass haben. Mustafa, Vedat und Duran werden wegen Straftaten in die Türkei ausgewiesen, die Heimat ihrer Eltern. In diesem neuen Umfeld bemühen sie sich nun, ihren Platz zu finden und ein Gefühl von Heimat zu entwickeln. Doch sie vermissen ihre Familien, welche sie zurücklassen mussten, und halten an ihrer schweizerischen Identität fest.

HOMO SAPIENS
23.6. / 20:00 Uhr
R: Nikolaus Geyrhalter

HOMO SAPIENS ist ein Film über die Endlichkeit menschlichen Seins, über die Fragilität unserer Existenz, das Ende des industriellen Zeitalters und über das, was es ausmacht, Mensch zu sein. Was wird von uns bleiben? Leere Räume, Ruinen, zuwachsende Städte, rissiger Asphalt. Unsere Lebensräume, nur ohne uns. Preisgegeben dem Verfall, oder besser gesagt: der Natur, die sich langsam zurückerobert, was wir ihr einst genommen haben. HOMO SAPIENS ist eine Ode an das Mensch-Sein, betrachtet aus einem möglichen retrospektiven Szenario.

EVA-MARIA – CRIMEA
26.6. / 11:00 Uhr
R: Daniel Dlouhy

Auf der Krim sitzt ein Mann und träumt von sowjetischer Größe. Vor ihm ein gewaltiges Schwert neben einem Helm. Lautstark und vergnügt von seinen eigenen starken Sprüchen lacht er sein heteronormatives, nationalistisch-imperialistisches Weltbild hinaus: Europa sei nur der Wurmfortsatz Russlands, Homosexuelle hätten es schon in der Sowjetunion sehr leicht gehabt, und die besten Kriegsreinszenierungen gebe es immer noch in Russland. Verwoben in diese Weltanschauung sind Bilder der Krim: Badestrände, Vergnügungsparks, Einkaufszentren, asphaltierte Parkplätze – Konsumtristesse.